

## **Memorandum**

**To:** Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body

From: Energy Imbalance Market Nominating Committee

Date: March 5, 2020

Re: Decision on EIM Governing Body Nomination

This memorandum requires EIM Governing Body action.

## **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Anita J. Decker's term on the Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body is scheduled to expire on June 30, 2020. She was appointed effective September 1, 2019, to complete a vacated term, and has expressed a desire to be reappointed, for a new three-year term. Pursuant to the Selection Policy for the EIM Governing Body, the Nominating Committee convened and vetted the potential re-appointment through their respective sectors. After thoughtful deliberations and consideration of Member Decker's positive contributions to date, the Nominating Committee reached a consensus to submit Member Decker for reappointment to the EIM Governing Body. If approved, she will be appointed to serve a term ending June 30, 2023, pursuant to the ISO bylaws, the Charter for Energy Imbalance Market Governance, and the Services Agreement.

ISO management supports the Nominating Committee's recommendation, and supports reappointment by the EIM Governing Body. The Nominating Committee recommends the following motion:

Moved, that the Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body reappoints Anita J. Decker to the Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body for a term beginning July 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2023.

## **EIM NOMINATING COMMITTEE PROCESS**

The Nominating Committee acted upon a consensus of its voting and non-voting members, represented by the following stakeholder sectors<sup>1</sup>:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Pursuant to the Selection Policy for the EIM Governing Body, the Nominating Committee has voting and non-voting members. The voting members include: EIM Entities, Participating Transmission Owners, Suppliers and Marketers of Generation and Energy Service Providers, Publicly-Owned Utilities, and The Body of State Regulators. The non-voting members include: EIM Governing Body, ISO Board of Governors, and Public Interest Groups and Consumer Advocates. However, in practice, the Nominating Committee operates on a consensus basis of *all* members, with the voting versus non-voting distinction becoming relevant only where consensus cannot be reached.

- EIM Entities (Paul Wetherbee)
- Participating Transmission Owners (Catherine Hackney)
- Publicly-Owned Utilities (Randy Howard)
- Suppliers and Marketers of Generation and Energy Service Providers (Johnny Casana)
- The Body of State Regulators (Commissioner Jordan White)
- EIM Governing Body (John Prescott)
- ISO Board of Governors (Severin Borenstein)
- Public Interest Groups and Consumer Advocates (Jennifer Gardner)

## CONCLUSION

The Nominating Committee recommends that the EIM Governing Body appoint Member Decker to a three-year term, thus enabling her to continue her valued service to the Governing Body and the ISO.