nitional SO 🍣 California

# Memorandum

**To:** Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body

From: Commissioner Ann Rendahl, Energy Imbalance Market Nominating Committee

Date: April 17, 2019

### Re: Decision on EIM Governing Body Slate

This memorandum requires EIM Governing Body action.

### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The three-year terms of Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body members Valerie Fong and John Prescott expire on June 30, 2019. Consistent with the terms of the Selection Policy for the EIM Governing Body, the Nominating Committee recently convened to conduct the process of identifying potential candidates, including potential reappointment of the incumbent members, for these seats. Through letters of interest, copies of which are enclosed as Attachments A and B, respectively, Member Fong and Member Prescott requested to be considered for re-appointment. The Committee conducted interviews with the members, deliberated, conducted outreach to their respective sectors, and reached a consensus to submit for consideration a slate that consists of Member Valerie Fong and Member John Prescott for re-appointment to the EIM Governing Body. If approved, the nominees will be appointed to three-years terms, effective July 1, 2019, pursuant to the ISO bylaws, the Charter for Energy Imbalance Market Governance, and the Members' respective Services Agreement.

ISO Management supports the Nominating Committee's proposed slate, which is subject to approval by the EIM Governing Body.

The Nominating Committee recommends the following motion:

Moved, that the Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body approves a slate that consists of Valerie Fong and John Prescott for reappointment to the Energy Imbalance Market Governing Body, each seat with a term beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2022.

## **EIM NOMINATING COMMITTEE PROCESS**

The Nominating Committee acted upon a consensus of its voting and non-voting members, represented by the following stakeholder sectors<sup>1</sup>:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Pursuant to the Selection Policy for the EIM Governing Body, the Nominating Committee has voting and nonvoting members. The voting members include: EIM Entities, Participating Transmission Owners, Suppliers and

- EIM Entities (David Rubin, NV Energy)
- Participating Transmission Owners (Catherine Hackney, Southern California Edison)
- Publicly-Owned Utilities (Randy Howard, Northern California Power Agency)
- Suppliers and Marketers of Generation and Energy Service Providers (Will Mitchell, Strata Solar)
- The Body of State Regulators (Commissioner Ann Rendahl, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission)
- EIM Governing Body (Carl Linvill)
- ISO Board of Governors (Angelina Galiteva)
- Public Interest Groups and Consumer Advocates (Jennifer Gardner, Western Resource Advocates)

The Nominating Committee interviewed Member Fong and Member Prescott separately and, after thoughtful deliberations, reached consensus to re-nominate both members without interviewing other candidates. The Nominating Committee believes this slate will ensure the EIM Governing Body's overall composition continues to reflect appropriate independence requirements and a diversity of experience, expertise and geography, as well as the continued effectiveness of the EIM Governing Body.

### CONCLUSION

The Nominating Committee recommends that the EIM Governing Body approve the proposed slate of nominees, enabling Member Valerie Fong and Member John Prescott to continue their valued service.

Marketers of Generation and Energy Service Providers, Publicly-Owned Utilities, and The Body of State Regulators. The non-voting members include: EIM Governing Body, ISO Board of Governors, and Public Interest Groups and Consumer Advocates. However, in practice, the Nominating Committee operates on a consensus basis of *all* members, with the voting versus non-voting distinction becoming relevant only where consensus cannot be reached.